Windows 8 Release Preview on Lenovo X220 Tablet

I installed the Windows 8 release preview the day it released on my Lenovo X220 tablet via a boot from VHD option, with Windows 7 still as my primary OS. I’ve been using Windows 8 Release Preview since the release and here are a couple of thoughts.

Since this(boot from VHD) is as close to a clean install as possible I’ve had almost everything working quite well.

SPEED: I haven’t done any formal tests but everything appears to be very fast. It’s amazing since the previous releases were quite fast as well.

Pen and Touch: Pen and touch works beautifully.

Additionally, it also recognized my 5+ year old HP OfficeJet 6318 printer.

Drivers: I did have to install a couple of Lenovo drivers for the following: (Grab the Lenovo Windows 8 Beta drivers)

1. Buttons on the x220 – basically enabled me to use the buttons for auto-rotate.
2. Chipset Drivers
3. Intel AMT 7.1 drivers

My suggestion would be to install each of these drivers one step at a time, as during one of the earlier builds the Beta drivers had not worked correctly.

ISSUES:

1. I’ve issues with Bluetooth not recognizing my Plantronics headset.

2. I still have one unknown device on the machine which Windows 8 is unable to detect, this is sad considering that the Lenovo X220 is one of the devices they are testing Windows 8 against.

3. I find the logging in with the fingerprint reader to be quite clunky on Windows 8. The experience on Windows 7 was far superior, from a completely shut machine you get the OS to startup with a swipe.

About sanjayshetty

Sanjay Shetty is currently putting the finishing touches on his book, the Brand Advocacy quick start guide, which covers his framework for building a brand advocacy program. He blogs at http://www.sanjayshetty.com
This entry was posted in Windows 8 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Windows 8 Release Preview on Lenovo X220 Tablet

  1. sanjeewa samaranayake says:

    Thank you very much for the info. could you kindly provide the steps please. I have windows 7 pro x64

  2. Eric Cote says:

    You should install the Synaptic touchpad drivers (from the mouse section of the Lenovo drivers) That way, the touchpad below the keyboard will get two touch points (instead of one). You’ll then be able to scroll in the start menu using two fingers on the touch pad. You’ll also be able to pinch, zoom and rotate using the touchpad. (Semantic zoom gets enabled on the touchpad! YEAH!)

    Keep up the good work!

  3. sanjayshetty says:

    Hey Eric,

    Thanks for chiming in, I installed the Synaptic drivers too 🙂
    It is useful to scroll in the touchpad too 🙂

    Regards,

    Sanjay Shetty

  4. Raj says:

    Hi,
    I heard from some reviews on the web that the x220t’s touch input is not as accurate as in other tablets(they mentioned that it could be a driver issue). Did you have any problems with multi-touch gestures on the x220t? Also, do you know of availability in India, it seems that one would have to import it from the US and that makes it 30% more expensive.
    Thanks.

    • dgr says:

      Hi,
      Just curious as to which x220 tablet you guys r using?? I have installed win 8 on my x220 tablet, however touch input doesn’t work, only pen does. Do these device even support touch??

  5. dgr says:

    Hi,
    Just curious as to which x220 tablet you guys r using?? I have installed win 8 on my x220 tablet, however touch input doesn’t work, only pen does. Do these device even support touch??

    Can we compare the product ID? Mine is 4298BU1

    • Raj says:

      I think you got the one without multi-touch support. If I remember correctly, your tablet must have a gorilla glass display and is mainly for outdoor usage.

  6. leena says:

    could you please suggest a solution for bluetooth(issue 1)?

  7. Shawn says:

    Curious: Any get the Auto Rotate to work in win 8? If so, how?

Leave a Reply

