Lenovo x220t drivers on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

By default not all the Lenovo drivers are loaded by the Windows 8 Consumer Preview. So you might need to manually load some of the drivers. For e.g. I wanted the Tablet buttons to be enabled, so I manually installed the Thinkpad Tablet Button Drivers(On most x220t there will be a directory called called SQTOOLS. Locate the TBBTN which is located under Drivers. SWTOOLS\DRIVERS\TBBTN) That got the Thinkpad x220 Tablet buttons working for me. So I could now manually rotate the screen or lock or power down if needed.

The other thing which I did was go to the device manager (Press Win key + W and type Device manager).

Device Manager on Windows 8

Choose the Other devices and select each device which shows up there, and choose “Update Driver Software…)

Then ask it “Browse my computer…” to locate the drivers, and point it to the SWTOOLS\DRIVERS directory. Do this for each device and Windows 8 should be able to load the appropriate drivers.

Drivers Directory

Lenovo x220 Driver Update on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

Then do a reboot…

About sanjayshetty

Sanjay Shetty is currently putting the finishing touches on his book, the Brand Advocacy quick start guide, which covers his framework for building a brand advocacy program. He blogs at http://www.sanjayshetty.com
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Windows 8 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lenovo x220t drivers on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

  1. Tom says:

    Hi Sanjay,

    Interesting to find your tech blog, I am also experimenting with windows 8 customer preview but I don’t think I’m having as much success as you! I seem to have lost touch functionality, it works fine on the login screen which is strange but once I’m in windows properly the touch cursor seems tobe stuck in the bottom right hand corner so it’s only useful for scrolling down!

    I’m guessing it’s a driver issue but I can’t install the latest wacom drivers from lenovo as I get an error. Do you have any thoughts? I’d really appreciate some help.

    Thanks,

    Tom

  2. Doran says:

    Hi Sanjay,
    I also have a similar touch problem.
    the computer does not recognize my pen.
    You got any suggestions?

  3. sanjayshetty says:

    Hi Tom, Doran,
    I’m guessing both of you have updgraded from Windows 7 to windows 8 consumer preview on your lenovo x220 tablet. If that is the case, check the blog post I’ve made – Solving Touch Issues: Windows 8 Consumer Preview and Lenovo x220 tablet – https://sstechbytes.wordpress.com/2012/03/03/solving-touch-issues-windows-8-consumer-preview-and-lenovo-x220-tablet/

    Let me know if that works for you.

    Regards,

    • Doran says:

      Hey,
      It worked!
      Thanks!
      now I just got to figure out how to get the webcam to work.
      Any ideas?
      it works with the windows programs but not with the windows 8 apps…

    • Tom says:

      Thanks Sanjay, I stumbled across the same solution that you posted by blindly fiddling around. Anyway, the problem is sorted now! Thanks for all your help!

      Tom

  4. sanjayshetty says:

    Hi Doran,

    Glad that worked out for you 🙂 which Windows 8 apps are your talking about, please provide details.

    Regards,

    • doran says:

      The default camera app and cyberlink youcam app.
      Neither seem to recognize my webcam

      • sanjayshetty says:

        Hi Doran,

        It’s a driver software issue. Go to Device Manager – > Imaging Devices -> Integrated Camera
        Check the driver if it’s anything other than Microsoft remove the driver, and check for updated driver. Or un-install the device, scan for hardware changes and Windows should install the new Microsoft driver.

        Regards,

Leave a Reply

