Installing Windows 8 Developer Preview in a VM with Virtual Box and VMware player

I’ve been trying to get Windows 8 Developer Preview installed on my Lenovo x220 tablet.

Virtual Box – 4.1.6-8413-Win

First, I tried my hand with the latest virtual box, what was interesting was that they have an option to create a VM for Windows 8. Unfortunately, after more than 4 tries the installation of Windows 8 failed and, I moved on to VMware player.

The issue with Virtual Box at least the latest release was that during installation windows 8 Developer preview would be stuck at different points in expanding the installation files. One time I even got to 98% and then stalled, other times it got stalled at 3% and one time at 11%. You can imagine how frustrating this was. Once it even gave a warning no. and cancelled installation, the issue was supposedly low disk space, which is insane considering that I had provided 50Gb for the virtual hard disk and I had another 100Gb free on my HDD. Well finally gave it up. I’m guessing this is an issue with the latest release of the software, as I’ve previously seen installations on the earlier versions succeeding.

VMware player – 4.0.1-528992

Here I had to choose the OS as Windows 7 while creating the virtual hard disk. I followed the instructions out here http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials/2899-vmware-player-install-windows-8-developer-preview.html and the install process on VMware player was easy and fast.

Finally I have Windows 8 Developer Preview loaded on my Lenovo X220 tablet.

About sanjayshetty

Sanjay Shetty is currently putting the finishing touches on his book, the Brand Advocacy quick start guide, which covers his framework for building a brand advocacy program. He blogs at http://www.sanjayshetty.com
This entry was posted in Windows 8 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

